handmade business · Inspiration · Keeping house

The process of perfection

I’ve been having dreams about being forced back into a corporate job that I don’t want to do. It’s strange that I feel I don’t have control over my own life. I’m really quite happy with the way things are right now, it seems the first time I’ve felt this way in a long time. But there’s an undercurrent of anxiety that it could all be taken away from me.

I am confronting the realisation that I have no income of my own for the first time since I was old enough to get a job, despite the fact that I’m working hard keeping a household and raising three small children. I am completely reliant on someone else to support me financially and that gives me a deep, low sense of panic.

Goodness, there’s two whole paragraphs of angst already! I hadn’t intended this post to be so negative – I wanted to share what I’ve been making, not bring the mood down! But perhaps I just needed to get that off my chest.

So! My head has been full of cloth dolls lately. And I’ve been experimenting with faces. This is my original doll face:

embroidered face

And here is my second attempt:

cloth doll embroidered face

I think the second has a little more life . I had a play with yarn hair too, it’s more time consuming and I do like the distinctive 1920s look of the felt hair, but it’s certainly something I want to keep experimenting with.

For the past few days, I’ve been working on three new lovely ladies.

They began life as some pretty Japanese Tana lawn, a lovely vintage blanket and three sweet doilies.

doilies and blanket

Carefully pairing colours, they started to come together:

cloth dolls under contruction

And here they are. I’ve also given them jointed arms, attached with vintage buttons. Each is slightly imperfect, but isn’t that the beauty of handmade? Imperfect and beautiful, like all of us!

cloth doll sislers

I’m still full of inspiration and enjoying this process of creating and perfecting my craft.

This is fulfilling.

~Sarah

2 thoughts on “The process of perfection

Leave a Reply

