Uncategorized

Pick self up, dust self off. Start all over…

Well. My first market stall was not the raging success I’d hoped. I’m sure (I hope) this is not an uncommon experience for those starting out trying to sell their handmade creations.

Yes, I suppose I’ve been putting this post off for a few days as it’s not the news I’d wanted to report, but as I said earlier, I know I need to develop resilience if I am to take this plunge.

handmade bears
Teddies looking their best

Firstly, it was the first market of its type in that location – I spoke to the veteran stallholders around me and all said they’d had a terrible day and it happens sometimes, particularly when markets aren’t established. So I can take some consolation from that.

Secondly, I don’t believe it was the right type of market for my things. Most vendors sold second hand kids’ clothing and the customers were mostly parents to be, clearly there for cheap kids’ things, not handmade.

I know they possibly sound like justifications to protect my ego. Certainly experiences like this make me look at what I make and question (yet again) whether there is a market for it – which I suppose is never a bad thing.

On the positive side, I had plenty of interest and encouraging comments and I think I started to get a feel for the type of person that is my demographic.

So until I can summon the courage to take on my next market, I have added a few of my latest bears to my Etsy shop. You can meet them here: Frankie Bear, here: Theodore Bear and here: Phaedra Bear.

(Or just click the link on the right to my shop.)

They make me smile anyway 🙂

~Sarah

 

 

Leave a Reply

